Wrigglers

Africans in "American" Communal Tank???

Recently saw some Electric Yellows I would love to put into my community tank - only problem is that my tank is mainly "American" - ie housing angels, gouramis, tetras, rasboras...but with kribs (african but has a lower ph). Currently, the ph is around 6.5, but can increase it to neutral quite easily (Sydney tap water? + neutral regulator).

I know electric yellows can have a ph of 7.5 - being only 0.5 above my projected ph - would they survive? Is it possible to have them in my tank? My understanding is that it should survive (as i was told by the breeder) - but are what are the other "hidden problems" that may arise - if any? I hear they are quite peaceful and dont grow too big - being ideal for my tank.

Has anyone ever attempted this before? Was it succesful/not? I havent really heard of it been done before, being the reason as to why i ask.

Thanks in advance

Just an Egg
    Gday baracuda.
    Im relatively new to the fish keeping hobby and i too thought that 1 or 2 electric yellows would be awesome.
    Cant say ive answered your question bud but i too would like to know about it!!

Make sure you do your reading!
    I know its helped me!

Just an Egg
    I personally wouldn't mix continents and just keep to one theme but having said that you won't have to acclimatize those Africans since they've been living at such a low pH anyway - not much diff to your pH
    you can never have too many Discus!

San Merah Discus
    Logic says that an alkaline hard water fish won't do too well in an acidic soft water environment.

Just get another tank and make it African and problem solved.

Just an Egg
    Hi again.
    Ph wasnt my main concern....i have a pair of apistogramma agassizi and a pair of German Blue Rams, i thought the aggressive nature of electric yellows would be the problem, especially in my case with breeeding pairs.