Just an Egg

Hey there...im Nic

Hi all,

Im new to this fishkeeping business and absolutely love it!!!
    I currently have a very dissappointing 10gal community tank but in the next couple of weeks im going to take the plunge and set up a 3 or 4 foot discus/community tank.
    Im keen to get right into it but have recently noticed how empty it makes the wallet in the back pocket!!!!!
    Ill progress as time and the budget allows me and someday ill have a tank that is worthy of showing to all you discus "gurus."

Cheers guys.
    Make sure you do your reading!
    I know its helped me!

Tiny Fry
    Hi Nic,

Welcome to the forum.

My recommendation is that you aim to go as large as you can with the tank - at least 250 litres. It is best off to start off simple with Discus. A planted tank is expensive to get started, and having started off down that route myself I can now say that I think it is definately best to start of with either a bare bottom tank, or if you don't like the bb look then just decorate simply with sand substrate and may be one or two large sword plants.

The trick is to keep the Discus well fed and the water really clean. This means that there is a lot more to consider with discus than other fish.

For example, you will need to think about water changes. Most of us change at least 25% of water each time - personally I change 25% every two days, others change 50% twice a week.

It is best to treat, heat and age the water before adding it to the aquarium. Discus like to be kept in hot water (28-30 degrees c) That means that you will need a container to prepare the water, with a heater, an airstone, powerhead or internal filter to keep the water moving and a pump to get the water from the container into the aquarium.