PDA

View Full Version : Fish to keep the Tank Clean

Ogre
Fri Oct 27, 2006, 07:55 AM
I have 2 questions for the Discus guru's :)

1. What is best kept with them to keep the substrate clean, ie eat left over food ect.

2. How long should they be given to settle into a new enviroment before you start looking at other things. I have 3 larger fish which have been in a week. They are still not eating. I have tried Breeders Blend Flake, HBH Krill, Frozen Bloodworms which they did nibble at and Live Blackworms ( havnt touched them). These were all foods the previous owner said they were eating.

Ph is 6.7
Ammonia is 0
Nitite is 0.1
GH is 80ppm
Temp is 28.1 - 28.6

Tank is 200 litres. I have a 1200lph cannister ( which is doing about 400lph with media ect) with a 9watt UV sterilizer. I also have a small internal filter 350lph with spray bar to break the surface area.

Any advise appriciated

FishLover
Fri Oct 27, 2006, 01:39 PM
I'm no expert.
I had three big (6") discus lately and they had the same thing at start. I increased the temp a bit, to 86F, that's about 30? Not sure. And I did WC every 2 days in the 125 g tank. They started to eat after few days. So, I would say increase the temp and up your WCs. That helped mine. Maybe it will work on yours too. Your tank is about 50 g so I would do daily WCs till they start to eat.

I use corys to clean up the Discus leftover.

Ogre
Fri Oct 27, 2006, 02:34 PM
How did the Corys go with the Higher temps?

From what I can see they like 23- 25 degrees c.

I will try the water changes as well. Cheers

FishLover
Fri Oct 27, 2006, 04:10 PM
I think the corys are fine with the high temp. I set mine most of the time around 86F, sometimes go as high as 89 without any problems with the corys.