PDA

View Full Version : angel behaviour

Mattzilla
Sun Oct 15, 2006, 09:50 AM
i recently bought 3 angel fish for a friend of mine and after a couple of weeks in the tank one (Paul) is always chased away by one of the others (Mary). Which leave Mary and the other angel (Peter) hanging out in the main clearing of the tank. Paul is forced to live in the shadows so to speak. now i know thay have gender based names (my friend insists on naming all her fish) but i have no idea what sex they are.

they are about 1.5 - 2" in body size...not including fins... is this size indicate that they are mature enough to pair up and breed? would it be likely that Mary and Paul are both males with Mary being the dominant male ...hence chasing away the sub dom male.... and Petere actually being female? i know i know that was as clear as mud!!!!

i am very new to angels so any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

they are housed in a heavilt planted standard 3 ft tank with 10 juvi altifrons

thanks very much

matt

mcloughlin2
Sun Oct 15, 2006, 10:29 AM
Typical angel's i'd say ...

You buy 3, end up with a pair and have one bullied ...

Mattzilla
Sun Oct 15, 2006, 10:39 AM
should i get rid of the bullied one? or will it be ok just living in the background....

it gets harrassed straight away when it comes out in the open. still gets plenty of food at feeding time and does not appear too stressed

DR.V
Sun Oct 15, 2006, 11:01 AM
I would say add 1 more angel fish to the tank Matt, to accompany the nigel.

At 2 inch body size, I would say its still small for breeding. My breeding pair are about 8cm from mouth to the back, just before tail.

Heavy plants would be great, provding a lot of hiding places to make them feel secure.

I notice two problems here:
1. I dont think angelfish and altifrons will mix together.
2. Soon 3ft tank would be too small for 13fish in the tank.

Anyway, male angel got a hump on the head where female dont, just like cichilds.

Good luck Matt.