PDA

View Full Version : feeding juvie discus.

Lisa D
Wed Sep 27, 2006, 04:11 AM
Hello hello!

I was referred here by one of the guys from seaview aquariums in Perth (don't know which one cuz they never tell me mind you). So I've got a question for you.

I'm new to discus. I was given 6 juvies (approx 2 - 2.5") by a breeder I know, had them since friday (sept 22nd). Now, at first they kinda hid in the tank (its a 270L/72US gallon bowfront display tank - quasi-heavily planted - lots of foreground plants including rather tall 'dwarf' sags), but now they're getting bolder. They even chase my bosemani rainbows I have in there.

But my problem is this. Although they're getting bolder, and the breeder said they'd hide in the plants alot - which they don't really do. I'm having difficulty feeding them.

I KNOW they're semi-interested in food - I've seen them take nibbles at the snails I have in the tank, but when it comes to either flake food, pellets or frozen discus delight (not sure whats in it - its a commercially made food designed for discus which i've been using on other fish also) when we put any of the above in the tank, they go and hide.

I've never actually seen them eat flake or any of the other foods I've given them. I've tried different times of the day, after the lights were out, you name it i've tried it.

Any suggestions? Color seems to be fine (not sure exactly what color they are at this point - they're showing SLIGHT signs of some blue, but I guess because of their age they're more brown at this point. Stripes are showing, they'll darken or lighten depending on mood I guess.

pH is 7.2, ammonia is 0, nitrite and nitrates are normal. Temp is 84F/28C currently.