PDA

View Full Version : would I be okay with discus?

FishKeeper
Sat Sep 16, 2006, 04:48 AM
new to the forum. :)

I have been keeping aquariums for at least four years now, so not new to fish keeping, I currently have an 85 gallon / 320 litre marine reef, which was previously freshwater, I have also had a 30 gallon reef and a 15 gallon freshwater tank, I have now got a 45 gallon tank (which I got for free) and was wondering how challenging discus are to keep? and would this tank be suitable for discus'?

If so I have a few questions;

- how many 3-4" discus could be kept healthily in a tank of this size, allowing space for them to grow?

- what decorations are nescessary?

- are live plants nescessary?

- would my RO unit produce suitable water for discus? or should I use dechlorinated tap water?

- I have 2 canister filters which I could use (they were used on my 85 before it became marine) would these provide suitable filtration and what media is recommended?

any help would be appriciated, thanks.

mcloughlin2
Sun Sep 17, 2006, 09:47 PM
- how many 3-4" discus could be kept healthily in a tank of this size, allowing space for them to grow?

4-5 discus would be a nice number in that size tank .... :wink: The usual rule is 1 Adult discus per 10G of water ...

- what decorations are nescessary?

None really .. For a breeding tank all that is needed in there is a spawning cone or slate ... :P .. In a display tank you could use driftwood, plants, and a few well chosen rocks to create a natural looking biotope ..

- are live plants nescessary?

No its a personal choice ... which ever floats ya boat!
:D

- would my RO unit produce suitable water for discus? or should I use dechlorinated tap water?

Again its a personal choice ... A RO unit is not necessary to keep discus happy, but if you have one then i would use it! ... 8-)