PDA

View Full Version : My planted tank

fish_r
Sat Jun 10, 2006, 09:58 AM
Hi all
i'm a newbie here and thought id'e put a cpl of pics up of my planted tank to c how u think it's looking ?
5 foot tank, 2 x 80w T5 aquamedic lighting, 1 x ocean white tube 1 x planta tube, peat base with aqua clay substrate, fluval 405 filter
iv'e just added 5 discus to it too "newbie with them too" :) there playing hidy @ the moment.
the rock on the large bit of driftwood will b comming out as it's just to hold it down for now, it had soaked for 5 weeks in a drum and was still floating and i got impatient :roll:
i want to create a carpet along the front, but still deciding what to do it with ?
any advise/ideas appreciated :)

HAN 'd' Aquariums
Sat Jun 10, 2006, 10:25 AM
Impressive Setup.
Can't wait to see the discus.
Welcome to the forum fish_r.
Heidi

RichVic
Sat Jun 10, 2006, 10:38 AM
Very nice looking tank, mine didn't look that full for weeks!
Vicki

aquaholic
Sat Jun 10, 2006, 12:58 PM
I'm impressed
can't wait to see the discus in there :D

fish_r
Sun Jun 11, 2006, 02:02 AM
thx guys :) it has taken me a bit of trial and error to get it close to how i want it too look, but since adding pressurised Co2 it has made a hell of a difference, especially with the algae problems i had.
just want to add some red plants next to break up the colour a bit...
had a big trim a cpl of weeks ago now as some of the plants in there are really fast growers and the hgro was taking over so took a lot out.
heres a cpl of pics of discus, they are starting to get less shy now :)

vince
Tue Jun 13, 2006, 11:05 AM
nice tank, mate!!

5 foot tank right?

What is the dimension of your tank mate?

nice planted tank set up...nice light...

fish_r
Tue Jun 13, 2006, 12:02 PM
thx vince
dimensions of the tank are "ID" 151.5cm x39w x49h
and approx 6cm of substrate
lighting gives me approx 2.4wpg
i would really like to add more lighting maybe add another tube later...

OscarManAlpha
Tue Jun 13, 2006, 11:56 PM