PDA

View Full Version : Fin Rot

skoom
Fri Aug 06, 2004, 03:11 PM
I inherited a discus today and it has fin rot.

I am kind of new to discus and have had traumatising death experiences already...=(

I have received so much advice, but not sure how to put it together:

Fish is in 3*20*14, ph 6.6, no nitrite. T=28C Canister filtration w/spray bar Water changed 2 days ago

This is the treatments I have at my dispersal:

1. Salt: been recommended to add 2xtblspoon to tank. sufficient?

2. Aquamaster - Multicure

3. Aquamaster - Tri-sulfa tablets

4. Melafix/Stress Coat

5. Waterlife - Myxazin (expensive but does it work better?)

I have already commenced myxazin....and about to add salt.

Any suggestions or how to use my medications more efficiently if at all?

I find keeping discus difficult and at times frustrating, but the experience is very rewarding.

Thanks for advice.
Cheers.

lood83
Sat Aug 07, 2004, 07:08 AM
hey,

I've found pimafix to work pretty good on fungus. Just follow the directions on the bottle and change 25% every other day.

flukes
Sat Aug 07, 2004, 07:42 AM
Salt is 1-2 table spoons per 40litres.. or 10gals..
Melafix or Primafix are also a good treatment without having to result too meds.

Mattzilla
Sun Aug 08, 2004, 11:18 PM
maybe increase the temp a degree or two as well

Mon Aug 09, 2004, 10:46 AM
Thanks...I think he is improving, water condition is relatively good and he is basically the only fish in...

swimming around lively and fins are not clamped up.

Annie
Fri Aug 20, 2004, 06:54 AM
Great to hear the improvemnt. That is always a good feeling. Just keep up on the water changes and I am sure the Discus will come around.

redtegu
Sun Aug 22, 2004, 12:34 AM
My expensive beautiful, Powder blue jack dempseys (young) are clumped together on the tank bottom under rock, clamped fins, swim motion jerky, scratch selves on sand, However eat very well.

Added salt, water temp now 82 F.
Treating, second day with melafix. Calles for 7days of treating.