PDA

View Full Version : Setting up breeding Tanks

norto
Sat May 27, 2006, 07:03 AM
G'Day,
I am just new to this hobby and have noticed that Discus are very hard to get where I live so I have decided to try my hand at breeding them. I have been successful in breeding a wide variety of Australian parrots and I think I can give this a fair shake. I know the two hobbies are like chalk and cheese but they do have simarlarities in the dedication department. So what I am after is some info on setups etc and where in NSW Australia is the best place to obtain some stock.

samir
Sat May 27, 2006, 07:51 AM
Hi and welcome to the forum. good luck with the breeding. the best place to get stock would be Slippery Little Suckers or some of the people on the forum. you could put up an EOI (Expression of interest) in the classifieds for the fish you want. Regarding breeding setups, I'm not the expert but there are quite a few loitering around the forums and I'm sure you'll get some great advice. :)

marg
Sat May 27, 2006, 07:54 AM
Might be an idea to indicate whereabouts in NSW you are situated too.,

Regards,

Marg.

mcloughlin2
Sat May 27, 2006, 09:03 AM
Hi and welcome...
:P

So what I am after is some info on setups etc and where in NSW Australia is the best place to obtain some stock.

Its depends on how deep you want to get into discus breeding...

I reccommend at least 2 x 4ft tanks (growout tanks) and 2 x 2ft (2x2, breeding tanks) for 2 breeding pairs and the young...

Use the two 4ft as growout tanks for the babies and the two 2x2 to house a breeding pair of discus each...

But before you decide to get discus, have you kept and breed fish before?

If not, i do NOT think you should get discus at the moment...you do need experiance to keep these fish happy and healthy.... :wink:

Maybe you could purchase some other american cichlids and gain experiance breeding and caring for them.... :D

norto
Sat May 27, 2006, 11:47 PM