PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to Discus but have been keeping malawi for ages.

catcher
Fri May 19, 2006, 01:05 PM
G'day all,
Glenn here I'm a newbie to Discus, Would someone please lay down the basics on Discus keeping regarding the following questions.

1. Average ph - include high and low limits.
2. Average temp - ditto for above.
3. Water hardness - gh.
4. Is it better to run all one type or do various types get along?
5. The tank I'll be setting up is a 60"L x 20"W x 18"H, What is the disired max numbers of Discus keping in mind I'll have school of Tetra's and some cats for cleaning purposes.
6. General cost, variety and availability of juvies from this forum.
7. Lastly, an honest answer from the experts please, as I said above I've kept Malawi's for ages, display and breeding. I've always found common sense is the best approach to just about everything in terms of care and upkeep. Are Discus much harder to maintain or is it "common sense" as well?
Thanks in advance
Glenn

mcloughlin2
Fri May 19, 2006, 11:56 PM
Good to see someone not rushing into things!!! :D

1. Average ph - include high and low limits.

6.0 - 7.2 depending on whether you want to breed them or not...

2. Average temp - ditto for above.

I think they would be fine anywhere from 26-32 degrees celcius

3. Water hardness - gh.

I'll be honest, i have no idea exactely as i never test my water for hardness....Best thing to do is keep your water nice and soft...if your tap water is naturally hard try filtering peat through the water...

4. Is it better to run all one type or do various types get along?

For breeding purposes, keep only one type unless your interested in created your own colour variation...If its purely for a display tank i say go for as many colours as you can!!

All discus can cross breed as they are all the one species...