PDA

View Full Version : GOURAMIS & DISCUS

GIGGO
Mon May 01, 2006, 09:09 AM
Hi,I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF I COULD KEEP 2 GOLDEN GOURAMIS & 2 OPALINE GOURAMIS WITH MY DISCUS.ANY FEED BACK WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED AS I AM NEW TO THE AQUARIUM SCEEN.

sammigold
Mon May 01, 2006, 01:26 PM
Not 100% sure but I would say No... as I believe gouramis prefer cooler water temps than discus ie. around 26degrees.

I have found a couple of links for you that give info about gouramis and their natural habitats and water preferences... you can compare this to the info you will find in this forum about discus.

Hope this helps... here are the links.....

http://www.gouramis.info/

http://www.tropicalfishdata.com/gouramis/blue_gourami.html

the second link mentions fish that are compatible with Gouramis...Discus are not on the list....

cheers

GIGGO
Tue May 02, 2006, 10:33 AM
HI SAMMI, THANKYOU SO MUCH FOR THE INFORMATION IT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED:)

sharn
Tue May 02, 2006, 11:08 PM
im not sure really but i would lean to the 'dont mix em' side. ive been told by quite a few people that the gouramis can be quite infested with all sorts of nasties but i am in NZ so we dont get as higher quality fish as the aussies :(

Davo
Fri May 05, 2006, 09:38 AM
I have kept the types of Gourami that you have and also dwarf gouramis and pearl gouramis. They were all fine.

Gourami's are a pretty hardy fish.

Dave.

SandyLynne
Wed May 31, 2006, 08:20 PM
I have had dwarf honey gouramis in my tank with discus for 7 months now with no problems. The temp is 30 and the female gouramis keep spraying eggs time and time again. The male do a great job of building their bubble nests and collecting the eggs but that as far as they ever get. :P

brad_v
Sat Jun 03, 2006, 02:48 AM