PDA

View Full Version : Can't keep Bristle nose alive

Hettie_48
Thu Apr 27, 2006, 12:25 AM
I have lost about 5 bristle noses in a year. What am I doing wrong?

My discus, cory's, rummynoses and tetras are thriving.
I do feed algae pellets and zucini along with discus type foods.

I have rain water only and add discus trace and seachem flourish.
Hettie

Merrilyn
Thu Apr 27, 2006, 05:42 PM
Ohh Hettie, that's a shame. I'm no expert on bristlenose, but mine seem to be thriving.

Can you post a little more about your tank and the water parameters.

Another thing, Bristlenose catfish need some wood in their diet (helps with digestion or something) so some driftwood in the tank is essential.

Hettie_48
Fri Apr 28, 2006, 09:39 AM
Thanks for the reply Ladyred.

My water parems are
Amonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5 = 10
Ph 7
Gh 3
Kh none, hard to measure
Temp 30
Lots of wood

Bought 4 Bristlenoses and 3 baby discus home 5 days ago and the last BN has just died. Discus are doing great!!

I have a type of casurina tree dropping on my roof (Belah) where the water runs into the rain water tank. Maybe this is it.

Sure would like to get a peppermint BN.

Hope someone can help.
Hettie

HAN 'd' Aquariums
Fri Apr 28, 2006, 10:13 AM
Hi Hettie
Can you tell us the size and gender of the bristlenose?
Heidi

DiscusMad
Fri Apr 28, 2006, 03:54 PM
I keep getting like a spore looking growth on mine and they die after a week or so I give up on bn

Hettie_48
Sat Apr 29, 2006, 01:27 AM
The sizes are 1 male about 50cm from tip of tail and 1 female 40cm.
They both are not doing well.
Others have been about up to 25 cm and 8 little ones that died within a week.
Would it be that I have no KH. Also can't keep any Java fern alive.
Thanks
Hettie

sharn
Sat Apr 29, 2006, 10:59 AM
do you mean MM? cause BN dont get to 50cm that i know of, that would be your common/sailfins which are equally as cool :)