PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf newb looking for ideas! :D

Auscanuckafishy
Mon Apr 03, 2006, 12:03 PM
Hey guys!

Thanks to those who pointed me here, and for those who don't know me my name's Mark and I have extensive experience with rift lake cichlids, but am a relative dwarf newbie. Almost everything I've done has been pH 7+ so far.

I started out with Kribs way back when, and I still think they were the most fun I ever had with my fish. So i'm looking to delve back into the realm of dwarfs at the moment, but not too sure whats available, particularly up here in Queensland.

I have a 4*18 with a massive hunk of wood in it that's just begging for some fish, it will be completely planted out, so nothing that likes eating/digging up plants. Whaddaya reckon? I had some double reds a while back and I didn't mind them, but thought it would be cool to have something not so linebred, you know, true to their wild roots.

It will probably be established with some very well quarantined tetras and whatnot before I get the cichlids, so nothing that's gunna go nuts on em. My experience with kribs was that neon tetras make great targets, until they all go kamikaze. Which is a shame because I do love the west africans......

Anyways, what would you recommend species wise? I'm wide open to any suggestion so long as I'm realistically able to aquire them. I also wouldn't mind having more then one species if 4*18 is big enough and if you can be sure they won't get too friendly with each other.

Looking to be sucked in by these miniature marvels!
Mark.

Th0mas
Mon Apr 03, 2006, 01:37 PM
Hi Mark,

Welcome aboard!!

It really depending on the budget you want, some of these guys command a rather hefty price tag (elizabethae => $250 a pair). If you think some of those Rift Lake are over priced, think again.