PDA

View Full Version : my rams

barramundi
Fri Mar 31, 2006, 11:58 AM
Hi all,

After reading this part of the forum and seeing the nice pics i had to try some.

Can anyone tell me if i have a pair of rams and how many is a good start,they will be in with discus in a 560ltr tank.They are starting to get some color we love them and their little stand offs.Hope you like them,

john

fishgeek
Fri Mar 31, 2006, 07:10 PM
looks like a pair
males noramally show no blue spotting in the lateral black spot, as in top picture
bottom one is probably a poorly coloured female
as she settles in i would expect her belly to show more red colouration

andrew

barramundi
Fri Mar 31, 2006, 09:48 PM
Thanks Andrew,

I have only had them a few days so hopefully the female will color up more as she settles in,it was a nice color in the lfs.

john

Th0mas
Fri Mar 31, 2006, 10:52 PM
I'm no expert with ram but I would say both are male.

Neither of them shows the classic pink/purple colour in the belly and both have rather high dorsal (overall).

Thomas.

steph
Sat Apr 01, 2006, 05:48 AM
Yeah my gut reaction is its two males. Especially from the behaviour described.

Check out this link for pics of males and females.

http://www.apistogramma.com/cms/microgeophagus/m._ramirezi/microgeophagus_ramirezi/
you can see the female is less thick through the body in comparison.

In a 560litre tank (is that 6ft??) you could easily have 8 of them, especially if the tank is well planted and has some decorations creating smaller territories

Cheers

Steph

Nathan
Sat Apr 01, 2006, 06:53 AM
i agree i do think they look like two males just the bottom one isnt coloured very well. the females have a lot of pink/purple on the belly and are usually slightly rounder.

nathan

barramundi
Tue Apr 04, 2006, 01:12 AM
Thanks all,

So do you think i should go and get 2 females,what would happen then will any start fighting or will they just form 2 pairs.

Thanks again for info..........john

Th0mas