PDA

View Full Version : Urgent Opinion Required

G-1000
Sat Mar 18, 2006, 11:42 AM
Hi Everyone,

I suspect that a new fish of mine has HITH (hole in the head) disease, but before I push a metro treatment onto it - I wanted to see if anyone agrees with me.

So pictures are attached below - input greatly appreciated...

G

G-1000
Sat Mar 18, 2006, 11:43 AM
One more pic of gill plate

G

sharn
Sat Mar 18, 2006, 11:56 AM
looks like it to me im no expert though

Merrilyn
Sun Mar 19, 2006, 04:44 AM
Pretty definate case of Hole in the Head, also known as Head and Lateral Line Erosion. The lateral line on that fish is very prominent, so that, along with the craters around the head pretty much confirm the diagnosis.

Start your Metro treatment straight away, and at the higher dose rate of 400mg per 40 litres of water, and for the full 10 days.

fishgeek
Wed Mar 22, 2006, 08:09 PM
merrilyn do you have any information that confirms HITH is caused by spironucleus or any particular protozoan?

i was under the impression that definite causation had not been identified

andrew

G-1000
Mon Mar 27, 2006, 06:45 AM
Update

The fish has gotten darker than the above pics and i have run 2 days worth of metro at 400mg per 40L with no observable improvement.

If this continues until the end of the week - what does everyone think about force-feeding the fish to make it eat ?

The fish has been like that ever since I bought it from a LFS - unfortuneately for the little guy.

G

endless
Mon Mar 27, 2006, 07:39 AM