PDA

View Full Version : Can't get rid of fin & tail rot

keinert
Mon Feb 20, 2006, 04:59 PM
I've been keeping discus for 9 months now. 100 gal, P.H.=6.9 Temp=87 deg. F. Using soft water from my tap. I do 30% water changes 3 times per week, use a UV sterilizer and activated carbon. Still my discus only last a few months, then die. Their tail fins (which are normally clear) will develop small "cloudly" or white spots on edge of their tail fins. Then the fin ends will rot away. To me, it doesn't look like a fungus or cotton growth. The fin itself just turns a cloudy white color in small areas. Over the last several months, I've treated with Quick Cure, Maracyn, Maracyn II, Melafix, Pimafix. The Maracyn medications seem to work,but it comes right back after medication stops. What am I overlooking????
Thanks, Kevin. keinert@sbceo.org

Merrilyn
Tue Feb 21, 2006, 01:04 AM
Hello Kevin, and a very warm welcome to the forum.

Finrot can be a real nuisance to cure at times. Can you tell me a little more about your tank. I need to know things like:-

How long has the tank been set up
Planted or bare bottom
Other fish in the tank and when did you add them
Any new recent additions to the tank, and do you quarantine fish before adding them to the main tank
Ammonia and nitrite and nitrate readings of your tank
A photo would be good if you can manage it.

It makes me think that there is something in your tank causing the finrot, that the UV is not stopping. It may be another type of fish carrying the bacteria whilst not showing any symptoms of finrot.

I'll try to piece all the information together, and come up with some suggestions for you. In the meantime, remove the carbon from your filter. Carbon is not always the best thing for a discus tank. It strips a lot of good things out of the water, as well as some of the not so desirable things, but it only lasts for a couple of weeks, at which time, it stops working, and just releases the toxins back into the tank.

keinert