PDA

View Full Version : First ever Discus Tank!!

Caesar
Sun Feb 19, 2006, 11:54 PM
Hello everyone,

I am interested in starting up a discus tank. To date I have 11 ciclids tanks but thought that my 350l corner tank inside would look really cool with something different, thus discus.

As I said I am new to the discus game. SO could someone point me in the right direction. Is there any links that provide you with the A-Z of discus keeping. I plan to scroll thru this site and pickup as much info as possible.

Some simple one's though just to get me started.

Can you confirm

PH
Water Temp
What types of foods
Do they need plants or driftwood
How often do you need to do water changes

Any other info would be great. Anything to get me thru the working day.

Cheers

Jason

aka Caesar :D

Merrilyn
Mon Feb 20, 2006, 02:19 AM
Hi Jason and a very warm welcome to the forum. Your corner tank will look fantastic with discus swimming in it. As it's inside, you might like to add some plants and driftwood to make it look more decorative.

Okay, now some simple rules to get you started.

Water - we are so lucky living in Melbourne. Our water is almost perfect for keeping discus without having to do much more than filter it. My water comes out of the tap at a pH of 7 and varies very little. Naturally, you need to know the pH of your tapwater, so fill a kitchen glass with water, let it stand for a few hours, then do your pH test. You might like to do an ammonia and hardness test at the same time. This way you know what you're working with.

Discus prefer fairly soft water, with a pH of anything between 6 to about 7.8. The main thing is to keep it stable, no ups and downs with the pH. They hate that.

Temperature - 29 to 30 is good. These fish come from very warm water. In cases of illness you can even go up to 33 or even 34 for a short time.