PDA

View Full Version : crossed discus or pure strain

Mattzilla
Sat Jun 26, 2004, 03:19 PM
what do you prefer??? pure strain discus or crossing strains?

my vote....i have no personal experience with breeding my own discus but some of the best discus i have ever seen are crossed discus.

matt

DiscusMad
Sat Jun 26, 2004, 03:30 PM
I can't vote becaue I like both

Mattzilla
Sat Jun 26, 2004, 03:35 PM
SO DO I....BUT....

which do you like better. think of the best looking discus you have ever seen and tell me if it is a pure strain or some wierd cross....

DiscusMad
Sat Jun 26, 2004, 03:38 PM
thats still a very hard question for me to answer lol

Mattzilla
Sat Jun 26, 2004, 03:50 PM
try your best....lol

i know how you feel. but most of your newest strains started with crosses and were then perfected of a number of years... food for thought

kevkoi
Sat Jun 26, 2004, 10:54 PM
I'm going to complicate these matters....... :lol:

Well all modern day domesticated discus are pretty much created from crossed strains or mutations. A pure strain is only achieved after many years of back crossing and selective breeding to achieve a high percentage of replication of the parents.

That said, are fish like say the "Leopard spotted snakeskin" a "Strain"? or just a selection.

Only a percentage (and a rather lower percentage!) of the fry of LSS x LSS will show full spotting and actually quite a good number of fry will show more striation than dots and hence to me that makes it a Snakeskin.

LSS was supposedly created by crossing a red spotted green with a fineline snakeskin.... so they are technically a cross. However, if you mate a fineline snakeskin to a red spotted green for instance, the percentage of fry actually showing the LSS would be even lower than that of LSS x LSS.