PDA

View Full Version : Peat

Iceblue56
Sat Jan 14, 2006, 09:34 AM
Hello
I have been doing wild african cichlids for 3 years now and just recently cleared out an 80 gallon for discus, now i knew that i would have to start completely over and change everything about that water.
so some one told me about peat granuals, so i tried them and put them in the filter bags and in my canaster filter,(is this how it can be used and will this really soften and acidify my water)?
i started over and emptied out my tank and put R/O water and tap in it. and had the peat in the filters but it is still running about 7.4-7.6 PH and about 150-200PPM hardness. i dont have any fish yet i am waiting tell i can get this all stabilized.

Ben
Sat Jan 14, 2006, 12:39 PM
Iceblue56

Welcome to the discus forum.

You have done the right thing by adding the peat into your filter but it must not be working as good as it should.

How many litres per hour is the filter?

And how much peat did you put into the filter?

If you have an RO unit this will make lowering the GH very easy and in turn the PH will lower.

Let me know about the above details.

Ben

Iceblue56
Sat Jan 14, 2006, 05:02 PM
Hello ben
i am using the peat granuals made by fluvalve, i have them in a filter that is 210 GPH and another filter that is 250 GPH, and then i just have another filter on their that is 350 gph. unfortunatly being in college i dont have the money to by expensive discus and an RO unit, so i have to just buy RO water,.
it is a good amount of peat granuals that i am using.

FishLover
Sun Jan 15, 2006, 11:59 PM
You may want to make sure there is nothing in the tank that changes your PH level (gravel, deco...)

Iceblue56
Mon Jan 16, 2006, 12:10 AM
i might try different brands of peat, but i will continue to just to water changes with R/O water. the only decor that are in there are 2 pieces of drift wood, some granite rock, and then 8 live plants, and a silica based white sand.

thanks for the replies

G-1000