PDA

View Full Version : bubba questions

sharn
Sat Jan 14, 2006, 08:42 AM
hello all, my name is sharn, i am not new to fish keeping (over 50 fish in my room) but i am new to discus.

after reading up about what conditions etc they prefer i found i have a acceptable tank as the water around here is relativly soft and my tank is at 6.5 (ph). all my other parameters are in check (its been running for about a year)- ammonia 0, nitrite 0 and not sure about nitrates (tests ran out)

recently aquired (around 3 months ago) 3 babies around 3cm long, one died the other day for unknown reasons and today i got two more bringing me up to 4 babies.

i have them in my community tank along with angels, cories and tetras (the tanks 230L). now my question is... will they be happier in the 60L BB(2 foot) tank until they get a bit bigger (the are now around 5cm). i have it set up now awaiting your responses.

i have noticed the new ones i got today (all siblings) are alot bigger and more colourful than mine and thats making me think im doing something wrong... the temp is 27C steady but upon reading around here i will up their tank to 29-30 because they are young. i feed them bloodworms, JBL flakes, frozen discus tucker and will be getting some discus bits soon. i change 20% of their water every third day... if i move them into the smaller tank i will up it to around 20% every other day. im thinking they (the ones i got first) were a bit more timid at feeding time and as a result slowed down because of less food. i am running a HOB filter turned down significantly (probably around 200lph) but i will soon be getting a canister filter as i know discus hate excessive water flow.