PDA

View Full Version : Help.....

KONA
Wed Jan 11, 2006, 08:12 PM
Hello, I am new here and have been enjoying all the great information. I am new to Discus and have only been keeping them for about 5 months. I have been kepping other fish for a few years, so I familiar with water paremetrs. My fish have been doing well in a 100 gallon planted tank for a while now. Until recently... I checked my PH and ammonia levels today. Ammonia level is great since I did a water change yesterday. However the PH is EXTREMELY HIGH... like 7.6-7.8... I have some driftwood in there that I thought it would be keeping it low. What to do? my fish seem to be doing not so good. The water out of my tap is like 6.8 - 7.0... Should I keep doing water changes? and how big if I do?

Also a big question that is hard to deal with... my 100 gallon has only 5 discus in it. all different sizes because they are all growing at different rates. The second to biggest one is picking on all the little ones and it seems to be stressing them out. What to do? Is this because there is not enough fish in there? I mean he thinks he runs the show.. and only lets the others eat when he thinks its cool and then swims around the tank pushing others around... I am afraid that the other ones are going to die... Thanks so much and Happy New Year to all...

Kona

FishLover
Wed Jan 11, 2006, 09:51 PM
I had the same problem and got some great advices here.

Fist of all, you need to establish some basic facts:
1. What eaxctly is you tap water ph level?
2. What in the tank maybe changing your ph level?

To do this, people here advised me to use two cups, one filled with tap water, one with 1 inch of your tank gravel and tap water. Test the ph in both first, test them again in 24 hours, then again in 48 hours.

If you have rocks in the tank, you may want to test them too.