PDA

View Full Version : Take the plunge or not?

chrissimalta
Wed Jan 04, 2006, 01:55 PM
Hi everybody!!!

I am new to both this forum and to discus-keeping. Its a pleasure to know that there is such a forum even for discus because I used to find the malawi cichlid forum and frontosa forum very helpful.
I have a 55 gallon tank in which I used to keep malawi cichlids but one fine day I thought I want to gp for something more challenging and peaceful. This is why I thought of going for discus, so I took all my malawis to my lfs and sold them just keeping 2 clown loaches.
I have been reading all kinds of articles on internet about keeping discus and in a way I dont't think that it is the right choice for me but I'm still trying to find a way of going about it. So maybe you could help me take this decision. These are the facts:
I live in an apartment with restricted space and don't have room for a water tank where I can let the water stay until it reaches the right parametres before carrying out a water change.
I am currently carrying out water changes to reduce the nitrate levels which are at about 25 at the moment. I am adding TetraAqua pH/KH minus to reduce the pH from 7.5 to more comfortable levels for the discus.
The problem that I am anticipating is that after I manage to reduce the pH level, when I come to carry out the weekly 20% water change, the pH level will rise slightly because the pH from the tap is 7.5. I use the 'python no spill' to do my water changes and never had any problems with my malawis and have no problems with my frontosas either. However, from what I read it is unacceptable for discus to add water directly from the tap into the tank and adding the 'anti-chlorinator' and 'pH minus' after into the water. I manage to regulate the temperature from the tap to +/- 0.5 degrees that of the aquarium so the temperature should not really be an issue in my case.
In the aquarium I only have the ordinary gravel, three pieces of bogwood and plastic plants.