PDA

View Full Version : My first discus tank

Sicj
Fri Jun 18, 2004, 04:04 AM
Heys guys, well i am new to the discus hobby but have kept and bred many cichlids before. I now only have 1 tank but i used to have 40 :shock: . I have just set up a tank it is a 3 ft std tank with 2 corner filters and gravel would this be ok for some discus my ph is between 6.3 to 6.9 . How many discus can i keep in this tank and is there any other things i should know. I am scared that when i put the fish in they will die cause of how many bad things i have heard with discus getting diseases and all sorts of stuff so any info will really help me out. I live in sydney and i am thinking of going to the discus club for a look any opinions? Sorry about how long this question is :oops:

Proteus
Fri Jun 18, 2004, 08:26 AM
First of all... Welcome to DF.com, glad you could stop by...

Most of the mis-information you hear about Discus is exactly that... Dis-information. They are no harder than most fish to keep, just your maintenance regime needs to be adapted to ensure they are happy and healthy.

I would suggest you visit the team down at SLS and have a chat, have a look at the fish and go from there.

I would be thinking 4 Discus, but personally I prefer keeping Discus in groups of 6 or more...

HTH

flukes
Fri Jun 18, 2004, 09:34 AM
And you could also join the ADA seeing though your lucky enough too live in sydney, you's get it all SLS and ADA.

kevkoi
Fri Jun 18, 2004, 09:35 AM
By all means, join up and support the Australian Discus Association.... there are lots of discus keepers there to talk to.

However, even among advanced discus keepers, there may be differing views as to what is the best way to propperly keep these magnificent fish. Take everything with a grain of salt....

Like Proteus says, discus are not as difficult as many make you believe they are.

Come down and have a look at the discus at Slippery Little Suckers
632, Anzac Pde
Kingsford, NSW 2032
ph: 93155288