PDA

View Full Version : water quality?

Hettie_48
Sat Dec 10, 2005, 02:37 AM
I have been keeping discus for about 3 months and not lost any.
I get all sorts of information on my water. I use rain water which is very soft. No readings at all. The PH is around 6.3
Some fish stores tell me I must add aquarium salt and others say definatley not. One man who has a lot of success says I should add some of my bore water to add minerals etc.
the plants are only doing OK.
I use liquid plant fertilizer and check the iron.
Any suggestions?

G-1000
Mon Dec 12, 2005, 02:16 AM
Hi

I would just add some discus trace to the water (product made by seachem) and continue to use the rainwater.

G

Mulisha
Mon Dec 12, 2005, 06:09 AM
Hey mate i use rain water and had probelsm with to soft water like 0 KH reading and 0 GH reading and a PH of a bout 5.5.

So i got some stuff called Seachem Alkaline Buffer and i add 2 teaspoons to 200L of water so very efficent and also add Seachem Equilibrium which adds all the minerals to the water but i son't siggest getting this stuff as it's $28.50 for 300grams that lasts me like 2 weeks so it's to expensive for me and going to use Seachem Discus Trace next beciase it works out to be alot more cost effective :wink:

Another thing is do u age your water and add any conditionier to the water at all?

If you don't add any conditioner I would siggest you add some as there is heavy metals in rain water and also contains lots of CO2 so using a air stone in your aging drum you can get rid of most of the CO2 and that will help rasie your PH level.

With such low KH level in rain water you can have a massive PH crash which can be fatal and kill everything in the tank not a very pleasent thing to wake up to of a morning :?

So if you need any more help just let me know.... :wink:

Merrilyn
Tue Dec 13, 2005, 06:42 AM
Hello Hettie and welcome to the forum.

Lots of good advice there from members who have actually had experience using rain water.