PDA

View Full Version : New tank in Sydney question

fishlolo
Fri Oct 21, 2005, 05:08 AM
Hi, I just wanna ask, i live in Sydney and i am goin to have a new tank soon, i havent bought any discus yet, and i am pretty new with fishes (any sorta fish) just seeing you guys saying that sydney water is so bad so i wanna ask how can i make the most safest environment for my discus, before i put any in and kill them all?? Thank you! btw i have bought cycles, prime, and buffer is there other stuff i need???

Merrilyn
Fri Oct 21, 2005, 03:24 PM
HI fishlolo and welcome to the forum. Glad to see you're doing your homework before you get your fish.

The first thing I would suggest you do is to get a barrel to age your water in for 24 hours before you put it in your tank. When you're ready to add the water, put in the correct amount of Prime or other chlorine treatment, and bring it up to the correct temperature.

Allowing the water to age for 24 hours will go a long way towards removing some of the problems from Sydney water at the moment.

If you purchase your fish in the Sydney area, then they will be used to the water conditions, and shouldn't have too much trouble adapting to your tank.

I'd suggest you do a fishless cycle on your tank, before you add any fish. There is lots of information on here about how to do a fishlesss cycle. You can certainly add the product Cycle to give the filter a boost, but I'd still be doing a full fishless cycle before adding valuable fish to your tank.

Keep reading here. We've got a great bunch of friendly people who will be glad to help you every step of the way. :P

fishlolo
Fri Oct 21, 2005, 09:20 PM