PDA

View Full Version : What else but algae problems

Bad Inferno
Mon Oct 10, 2005, 11:15 AM
I've been battling this hair algae for 2 months ....just keeps comming back, even have some small gravel stones it is growing on which I now syphon out. Should I just take out all plants and run the tank for 1 months then re-plant ?

12 watt UV on 24 hrs / day ( 11 months old maybe time for a new bulb)
60 watts, 200 litres for 9 hrs / day
pH stablised at 6.4 ph with controleld CO2, 1 deg KH
I use the cheap Aqua-force plant food...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/rjconway/IMG_0016-1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/rjconway/IMG_0015-1.jpg[/img]

duck
Mon Oct 10, 2005, 01:24 PM
What are your Nitrate level's?
You need to double the amount of light.
Taking the plant's out for 1 month is not going to do anything.

Stuart
Mon Oct 10, 2005, 10:34 PM
You should be ecouraging plant growth since they will out-compete the algae for nutrients.

Otherwise you might consider adding such nutrient aborbing plants as mossballs and java moss.

Bad Inferno
Wed Oct 12, 2005, 09:49 AM
I just purchased a nitrate test kit, Aquarium science and have a reading of 40ppm

I did put 30 ml plant fert in my tank this morning, do not know if this increases NO3

Thought it was high so tested tap water = 0

Bad Inferno
Wed Oct 12, 2005, 10:37 AM
A little more info

5 medium discus in 200 litres
30% WC every 4 days

29 deg C
Ammonia 0
PH 6.5, KH 2-3 = CO2 20ppm
Nitrate 40ppm

duck
Wed Oct 12, 2005, 12:40 PM
What is your KH 1-2-3.
Increase the CO2 to aleast 30ppm,If you can increase the lighting.
Your KH a little low might want to up it a bit.

Bad Inferno
Wed Oct 12, 2005, 09:11 PM
Thanks Duck,

KH was between 2 to 3 colour just started to change at 2 drops so maybe better saying KH = 2.5