PDA

View Full Version : Hi new to discuc fish...just curious.

look@thefish
Wed Aug 17, 2005, 04:42 AM
okays so im quiet new to keeping discus fish.. I have 7 tanks in totall all of them bar 2 are angels.. I have one spare tank (quarantiene tank) and also a 3 foot with 2 discus fish in their..

Im not quiet sure on the names of them i know 1 is a blue diamond.. the other like a dull brown with a blue pattern over it..

Im wondering, do discus come out to feed? I have had mine for 2 days now, and they both are soo shy, one tends to hide in my castle i have and the other (blue diamond tends to stare at the undergravel filter tubing all day and looks a bit blackish in colour compared to when i first got it)

I have my temp at 28 degrees and the ph is neutral, there no nitrates in the water. So i dont think there sick.. Do u think its just coz their new to their sourrounding that they wont come out?

look@thefish
Wed Aug 17, 2005, 04:47 AM
can someone delete them 2 other? Sorry i didnt know what i did to post that 3 times

Bronx19
Wed Aug 17, 2005, 04:58 AM
lol... classic.

Apparently its normal for fish to be shy at first.

Merrilyn
Wed Aug 17, 2005, 10:16 AM
Hi look@the fish, welcome to the forum, and welcome to the wonderful world of discus.

It's pretty normal for new fish to take their time to get used to the tank. Discus are by nature, a shy fish, and take a little while to get used to new surroundings, a new owner, and new food types.

They also seem to do better in groups of three or more. With only two in the tank, there is usually a battle for dominance.

look@thefish
Wed Aug 17, 2005, 10:25 AM
hmm maybe i should get another?

Wondering how often u guys do water changes ? and how much water?

on another note WOOTAGE my angel layed eggs this arvo.. Im not quiet sure weather or not they were fertalised by the male in with her..

Merrilyn
Wed Aug 17, 2005, 11:05 AM
Three fish would be fine in that three foot tank.