PDA

View Full Version : Meth Blue

oldschoolculture
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 01:41 AM
Hey,

just wondering, if the tank has meth blue in it, and the parents ate the eggs, do i need to completely drain the tank to get rid of the blue.

Cheers

DR.V
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 02:45 AM
why did you use meth blue for ??
meth blue is not good for discus because it will make a pair cannot produce slimes for the fry.
If you want to get rid of it, do w/c 30% everyday until it clears also add carbon in your filter.

Good Luck

oldschoolculture
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 03:15 AM
I asked the lsf near me about fungus on eggs. I noticed that eggs were starting to go furry, so the told me to add meth blue.

I'm guessing this was the wrong thing to do. So what can i use to stop fungus?

Thanks

Shawnts106
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 03:32 AM
The eggs may have died and the parents just ate them for nutritional needs... this happens, IM NO discus expert, but Fish are Fish and the same rule applys!

DR.V
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 03:51 AM
I asked the lsf near me about fungus on eggs. I noticed that eggs were starting to go furry, so the told me to add meth blue.

Thanks

Meth Blue does treat fungus, but on the other hand it cause harm to the pair,as they reduce the slime production.

Ben
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 04:52 AM
Hi Mate,
The best bet is to do %25+ water chanes once a day and maybe add some activated carbon to your filter is possible but dispose of after 10 days of use.
It should clear up and go back to normal quite quickly. But dont stress that you have added meth blue to the parents it will slow muscus production but there will be no long term problems.

HTH

Ben

oldschoolculture
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 05:51 AM
Phew.......
thanks Ben, I was really worried for a sec. I guess next time ill just let nature take its course and do the things u advised.

Thanks guys

Trebs
Fri Jun 24, 2005, 05:53 AM