PDA

View Full Version : Uninterrupted Power Supply?

Bill T.
Wed Jun 15, 2005, 03:36 AM
Anyone know about UPS for aquariums?
What cost, where to buy, effectiveness?

I have a 240 litre tank with a 400w external flow heater and a couple of e-heim canisters. Would like to know they will keep on going whilst I am on holidays, even if the power fails at home altogether.

chrissyoscar
Wed Jun 15, 2005, 09:10 AM
I'm no expert but I don't think a UPS can supply power for to long.
I have one on both our computers and I think they only supply enough power to keep them running for 30min max. Actually one will only keep the computer running for about 15min. The more expensive one will keep the computer running for 30min. There purpose is to give you enough time to shut things down so you don't loose information or damage equipment.

Oscar

lesley
Wed Jun 15, 2005, 09:52 AM
I've been told that you could hook them up to a car battery or similar and they can last a lot longer, have been meaning to research it for a while but have not gotten around to it yet.

Lesley

Bill T.
Wed Jun 22, 2005, 06:34 AM
I've been doing some homework on this subject. I could put a UPS together with off the shelf items for not too much: automatic charger, deep cycle battery, voltage inverter.

Trouble is even with a huge battery, you don't get much heating time - maybe 10 hours max. with a 300w heater. O.K. if you get a lot of power blackouts in your area, but not if you get a prolonged blackout.

The e-heim pumps are not a problem as they pull about 8w each.

So.....if only there was a low voltage heater?????

chrissyoscar
Thu Jun 23, 2005, 02:11 AM