PDA

View Full Version : What is the smallest discus to have spawned?

madaboutfish
Tue Jun 14, 2005, 01:12 PM
Hi all,

I bought 2 fishes last month which looked like rose reds. Today they are about 2.5 and 4 inches respectively. Just noticed that they are no longer fighting each other and are now shivering and pecking on the heater. Their
colours have also darken. They look just like a breeding pair about to spawn but I reckon that they are too young to spawn. I am now curious to find out what is the smallest discus that other hobbyist have spawned? I certainly hope that I did not buy 2 stunted fishes. Looking at the size of the eye in relation to the body it only looks a little larger than I would expect. In the 5 weeks that I have got them, they have grown by about 20 - 30%. Therefore, they can't be severely stunted right? I've been keeping pigeon bloods for the last 2+ years but these 2 new fishes have been behaving totally different from them. Any information on this topic is greatly appreciated and I thank you in advance.

Nick

Merrilyn
Tue Jun 14, 2005, 01:49 PM
Well it looks like you are about to find out Nick :wink:

They could be older than their size would indicate, then again, they may just continue to grow. It definately sounds like they are about to spawn.

The smallest female I have personally seen was a red turk owned by a friend and she was no more than 3 inches, maximum. She spawned twice with her normal sized mate, and all the fry grew into normal sized fish. :?

madaboutfish
Tue Jun 14, 2005, 02:50 PM
Thank you Merrilyn once again for the information. You have certainly been a blessing to others on this forum with your vast knowledge on the hobby.

Nick

Kaza
Wed Jun 15, 2005, 08:25 AM