PDA

View Full Version : HELP PLEASE

marg
Mon Jun 13, 2005, 06:07 AM
One of my Discus is sick and I'm pretty sure that it has Hex. When I went to feed them this morning one (which has always been a runt) had stringy white poop hanging off him. He keeps hiding behind the rocks in the tank.

I have a small tank that used to be my grandaughters (36 litre) so I have decided to set it up as a hospital tank. I washed it out with straight bleach and rinsed it heaps, then filled it 2/3 tank water and 1/3 fresh water.

My question is " I have some Metro tablets, but they are only 200mg. Would one tablet per treatment every 12 hours be enough? Also, what should I do regarding filtration? I have a small corner filter that I can put filter material in - will that do the job - or do I really need to filter the tank seeing as I have to remove 1/3 of the water every 12 hours? Should I just put an Airstone in?" :? :? :?

Any advice would be appreciated as this is my first time I've encountered Hex.

Merrilyn
Mon Jun 13, 2005, 09:59 AM
Hi margot. Seems everyone is having trouble with hex at the moment.............uggggggh. And it seems to be a particularly resistant strain, so you need to be diligent with the treatment, and not miss a dose.

Just as you were planning, move the little guy into the hospital tank on his own, and you can just put an airstone in there. You will be removing so much water, the ammonia won't have a chance to build up to a level where it could become a problem.

The dose is 250 mg per 40 litres, but that can be safely doubled in highly resistant cases, so don't underdose. I'd still use 1 and a quarter tablets in a tank that size. If you can possibly manage to repeat the dose every 8 hours it becomes more effective.

One important thing. Retreat the full amount of water in the tank each water change, not just the water replaced, so add a full 1 and a quarter tablet after each water change. And equally important, no tank light. Metro is destroyed by light.