PDA

View Full Version : Which live food starter culture

kswong34
Wed Mar 30, 2005, 03:36 AM
Hi, I am a Novice in Discus keeping.
:o

Would like to know which live food is best for discus? and Which is the most easy to cultivate and reproduce? Where will I able to get the starter culture? I am in Brisbane, Qld.

Or anyone will send some culture to me. :lol:

Thanks.

Merrilyn
Wed Mar 30, 2005, 03:59 AM
Welcome to the forum kswong, and welcome to the wonderful world of discus.

A good mix of live food, frozen food, and prepared dry food is best for growing healthy discus.

You can use live brine shrimp, either purchase adult size from your local pet shop, or purchase eggs and grow your own to adult size, which takes about two weeks.

Live white worms are also relished by discus, but are high in fat, so should only be an occasional treat. Most pet shops can get you a starter culture.

Earth worms are a very good and healthy source of nutrition, and can easily be raised at home. A plant nursery or garden shop will have a starter culture of compost worms. They need to be cleaned well, and cut into small peices before feeding, but discus love them.

kswong34
Wed Mar 30, 2005, 10:46 PM
Hi, thanks for the advise.

I will try my local aquarium shop tomorrow. :wink:

flukes
Thu Mar 31, 2005, 01:01 AM
Bunnings have red worm starter kits.. Its in a box that you can just add food too.. The culture normally lasts me about 6months..

Then i had too buy another...

kswong34
Sun Apr 03, 2005, 06:00 AM
Which section will that be in Bunnings??

Thanks

Ben
Sun Apr 03, 2005, 06:22 AM
Hi,
I bought mine in the inside gardening section, should be near the fertilizers and shovels etc.
There are 2 sorts, 500 worms for around $19- and there is 1000 worms for around $30-
I noticed they also have a 2 tier plastic worm farm for 90 bucks, but it could easily be made for less than that.
i have mine in a large plastic drum with holes in the bottom. Works well for me.
HTH,
Ben

DR.V