PDA

View Full Version : Constant High pH

B-rad
Thu Mar 24, 2005, 05:04 AM
I am relatively new at discus keeping, but I have done a lot of research and asked numerous pet shops, and am still stumped....I have a 65 gallon tank, a biological filter, sponge filter, a small savanna root and a small piece of driftwood with 4 live plants. My problem is that I cannot get my pH to stay down. It tests around 8.4 . I tried adding peat to my filter, I even tried adding products such as pH down(had no effect) discus buffer, and neutral regulator, which bring it down to around 7.0 for maybe a day and it shoots right back up. I know the rapid changes aren't good for my fish, but I don't know what else to do....I have well water which I tested at around 7.0 pH.

Thanks for your help

edit- my discus seem to be healthy, they are eating regularly, and come to the front of the tank when I come in the room

DR.V
Thu Mar 24, 2005, 05:05 AM
Maybe your gravel rises the pH ?? did u check that u have natural gravel or coral gravel ??

B-rad
Thu Mar 24, 2005, 05:11 AM
I'll have to check into that, I would think that its just natural gravel, besides I thought coral was supposed to lower and stabilize your pH much like peat??

Dave76
Thu Mar 24, 2005, 05:35 AM
Nope coral raises KH & PH.

What is the KH of your well water & tank water? If there is a difference I'd say there is something in your tank buffering the water.

Regards

Dave

B-rad
Thu Mar 24, 2005, 06:10 AM
the only kind of testing supplies I can find for hardness/alkalinity are Jungle brand test strips, which reads between 180 and 300 KH ppm.

Merrilyn
Thu Mar 24, 2005, 12:17 PM
Hi Brad, and welcome to the forum. Your water is pretty hard, and that is helping to keep your pH reading high.

If your water out of the tap is 7, then something in your tank is increasing the hardness. It usually tends to be the gravel or rocks. It's only going to be a problem if you want to breed.