PDA

View Full Version : little experience-worried

fred
Sat Mar 12, 2005, 06:26 AM
Hello everybody! This is my first time here One of my discus is sick I kept fish all my life but never discus. I bought 2 quarter size red melons from local pet store. Ikept them in a 20 gallon tank with no problems. I dont do much as far as water chemestry and maintenece water temp at 86. ph between 6.8 and 7.0 and i change 25% of water twice a week I feed flake,frozen and live with no problems until now. Two days ago the largest stopped feeding, and swam violently,darted and swam flat Tried epson salt for two days. Swimming disorder has stopped but he still does not feed and stays at surface level.

HELP!!!!

goldenpigeon
Sat Mar 12, 2005, 06:46 AM
have you got much oxygen going into the tank. if you are farmiliar with geo-liquid that may help but dont depend on it to save lives. im cant think of the heat in farenheit degrees right now but temp should be between 28 and 30 degrees celceus. try live foods (blackworm, brine shrimp, mossie larvae). dont bother with the flake its nogood unless you have other fish that eat flake in the tank. do u feed beef heart food?. a good brand to use is frozen discus dinner, also good is mysis shrimp, brime shrimp and you should try to find a good quality pellet eg. breeders premium).

where abouts do u live????

David

fred
Sat Mar 12, 2005, 07:22 AM
thanks for your response. Whats geo-liquid? I dont have a problem with feeding. They liked flake, but I fed them frozen bloodworms and brine shrimp. they dont like beefheart. They fed very well. Everything was constant All of sudden one fish seemed very distressed and ill with no hapitite.
Oxygen levels dont know.
Salem,MA

leanne31
Sat Mar 12, 2005, 07:41 AM