PDA

View Full Version : Succumbing to the allure of the WILD side!!

biggie1985
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 12:30 AM
Hi fellow fish slaves

Finally have given in to the allure of wild discus and have put a deposit down on a couple of fish.

I'm a complete amateur with wilds so I was hoping to draw on the wealth of knowledge available from members of this forum.

How should my tank be set up and what are essential things I need to have and know whilst setting up and maintaing the aquarium?

I'm looking at setting to begin with a standard 4 foot tank but not sure of which filtration is best.
Are wilds able to be mixed with domestic fish or will they not mix?
I have been told by the current owner of the fish that they are surviving in PH 7.0 atm so does that mean they could perhaps not be genuine F0? To plant or not to plant?
Substrate or no substrate?
Strong or weak current in water?
Bright or dim lighting?
General temperature?

Alot of questions I understand but it is a rather expensive investment so would certainly like to do it right. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Dave

Merrilyn
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 03:05 AM
Hi Dave, wild discus are expensive, and rare, so it's good to give them the best conditions we can manage.

Your 4 foot tank will be fine, just don't overcrowd. As far as filtration goes, I like Eheim canister filters, for their reliability, but as you'll be doing water changes around three times a week, even a couple of well matured sponge filters would suffice. It's up to you, but they do demand pristine water.

I would never mix wilds with domestics. It's just too much of a risk. Add a few varieties of tetras for some additional colour, but nothing else.

A pH of 7 is not idea for wilds, but set your tank up with that pH to receive the fish, and gradually drop to around 6 over the next month. I run my wild tank at a pH of 5.5 but I have heckels, and they prefer a lower pH.