PDA

View Full Version : How big do angels get?

dazza5
Mon Aug 09, 2010, 11:22 AM
How big do angels get compared to the average Discus?

I am new to the aquarium stuff and i have angels atm but will getting some discus soon.

Mr Wild
Mon Aug 09, 2010, 11:36 AM
Its best NOT to mix angels with discus, they are fast agressive eaters while discus are slow, angels will dominate the tank.

ILLUSN
Tue Aug 10, 2010, 06:31 AM
body size just a little smaller than the palm of your hand, fins make them look bigger i'd say thet reach 4-5 inches body length.

as said above DO NOT MIX WITH DISCUS, the discus will hate it.

dazza5
Tue Aug 10, 2010, 09:00 AM
Sweet, thanks for the info.

I have 6 foot tank in the garage that the angels will get all to them selves, I actually have a breeding pair of angels now, 2 of them spawned in the comunity tank in the lounge room where the discus will go but they must ate the eggs over night, i might try and breed them if they do it again.

Should they have a tank to them selves if they are spawning like Discus? I have a 2 foot tank aswell, would that be big enough for 2 angels to spawn in and raise fry?

ILLUSN
Tue Aug 10, 2010, 09:54 PM
i breed mine in 2 foot tanks they seem fine let them loose 2 or 3 spawns in the community tank though, it helps stop egg eating in the futre.

dazza5
Wed Aug 11, 2010, 02:35 AM
sweet thanks.

they spawned about 3 weeks ago now but they havent done anything yet, they seem to be cleaning the leaf they laid on b4 but havent done it yet.

they are 2 male angels that are from the same batch when i bought them as babies, they are both fighting each other for the female, should i remove the one that didnt get to fertilise the first time?

Mickey C
Wed Aug 11, 2010, 03:22 AM