PDA

View Full Version : Digital PH tester's

Ben
Sat Feb 26, 2005, 10:15 AM
Do many hobbist use these digital ph testers?
i have heard good thing sand bad things about them and i would like to see if many people use them and what they think of them.

I found these ones at dick smith, seems like the cheapest but
might not be that good?

http://www.dse.com.au/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/42204bff0d8c48422740c0a87f9c06ee/Product/View/Q1416

thanks for the feedback,

cheers,
Ben

mistakes r crucial
Sat Mar 12, 2005, 08:19 PM
Hi Ben,

I've been using digital Ph and TDS meters for about 3 years and wouldn't be without them. I check the calibration of the Ph meter once a week but it rarely needs adjusting. I had to replace mine (Ph) after about 18 months as they do have a limited life span but in my opinion they are worth every cent.

Few words of warning though. If you drop it bang goes a hundred bucks. If you check your water directly in the tank and let go, bang goes another hundred bucks. I take the water from my systems in a coffee jar and test it for the above reason and also accuracy. I found testing moving water is not accurate at all. Also, testing water in plastic containers has given me readings that would make you panic, like 2.2 or 10 depending on whats been in them, I always use glass. HTH MAC

weird
Sun Mar 13, 2005, 09:01 AM
I like using digital ph testers, takes the guess work out. There is some good posts in the forum. The Dick Smith one is alright, I had to take the first one back, but the 2nd one works fine.

AgeofAquariums
Wed Mar 16, 2005, 12:36 AM
Do many hobbist use these digital ph testers?
i have heard good thing sand bad things about them and i would like to see if many people use them and what they think of them.

I found these ones at **** smith, seems like the cheapest but
might not be that good?

http://www.dse.com.au/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/42204bff0d8c48422740c0a87f9c06ee/Product/View/Q1416

thanks for the feedback,

cheers,
Ben

Hi Ben,