PDA

View Full Version : Are Neon Tetra Discus Friendly?

Mr.Kuo
Fri Mar 19, 2004, 06:26 AM
Or in another way, Are Discus Neon Tetra Friendly? :?:
I have often wanted to get discus in my tank.
But I have a 120L tank and just not sure if it is suitable for a discus.
I have 15+ neon tetras currently living there.
And I am wondering if I can or should add discus in the tank.
And I am more a person that change water every fortnight.
I am willing to change to every week.
But that is the most i am willing to do.
Please let me know if discus could be my choice.
Better ask first , then sorry.

jluna
Fri Mar 19, 2004, 07:21 AM
hello -

i'm just a beginner to this - i have 7 discus in a 360 litre tank. but i've kept more than my fair share of neons - actually, a hell of a lot more cardinals - and would say they are suitable tankmates. but i don't think you will be very successful with discus if you're not willing to go the whole way re: water changes etc... they like it real clean, and they are quite dirty little eaters, so they make a mess.

i think you should read a lot more about them before launching in...

justin

flukes
Fri Mar 19, 2004, 07:40 AM
I know of people keeping discus and changing water once a week but i wouldn't recommend it and i wouldn't suggest it for someone starting out, the thing is if your not prepared for effort discus aint the fish for you, because if you dont change the water then they wont be healthy and then your going to spend more time worrying and nursing them as you would doing your water changes in the first place.