PDA

View Full Version : New Tank

AquaGirl
Wed Feb 02, 2005, 10:07 PM
This is my first post so here goes. :D I've never had Discus but decided to go for it. I've had freshwater/marine for years now so I'm not a complete newbie. Right now one of my tanks is a 55gal with 2 Silver Dollars, 1 Angel fish and a Two-spot catfish. I would like to add some Discus to this and want to find out what you think. The tank has some rocks and three large pieces of driftwood with some plastic plants. At the moment the substrate is a small layer of river rock but I would like to use some sort of sand or similar small sized base. I'm using an AquaClear 110, and the PH remains around 6.6. Any siggestions/comments? Thanx in advance! :D

flukes
Wed Feb 02, 2005, 10:13 PM
Ok first things first, A silver dollar will out compete with discus and discus need too be the dominant species of the tank. Angles can carry parasites that dont effect them but can be dangerous too discus. And depending on each catfish they can suck on the slime coat of the discus leaving a nasty sore.

To tell you the truth you want too make you first discus experience as easy as possible, otherwise it will just be nightmare and you will wonder how people do it.

So the best bet would start a tank just for discus, maybe some cory's and a couple of bn's for cleaning.

It will make your life a whole lot easier..

AquaGirl
Wed Feb 02, 2005, 10:34 PM
Thanx Flukes. I had a feeling the four fish wouldn't fair well with Discuss. I've been coonsidering selling/trading them since I've no more room for another tank. :lol: So once they've been given new homes what do you think of the tank/filter etc.?

flukes
Wed Feb 02, 2005, 11:42 PM
An aquaclear 100, might not be enough for a 55gal. Id throw in a couple of sponge filters too hhelp out a bit. Also will it still be planted?

A ph of 6.6 is fine but if your using addatives too get it there your better of just keeping it stable. Stable parameters is essential for discus.