PDA

View Full Version : Tubifex

Littlefish
Wed Jan 26, 2005, 05:49 AM
Anyone know where to get real tubifex (not blackworm) around the Brisbane (Australia) area? I am planning to set up a small culture so I can have a reliable supply.

I've been collecting and cleaning my own tubifex for some 40 years (because I'm always wary of shop sources) and have not had any problems related to the worms. However my old collection site just downstream of the Golden Circle cannery has been dredged into a saltwater drain and no-one seems to use anything but blackworms now.

Blackworms are good and everything, but I have had more success with tubifex.

Fred :?

kalebjarrod
Wed Jan 26, 2005, 07:57 AM
what about rod from sunshine discus?

pm him :wink:

Littlefish
Thu Jan 27, 2005, 09:23 AM
Thanks for that. I've sent off a PM to Rod.

Fred :)

Mattzilla
Thu Jan 27, 2005, 09:34 AM
i have only ever heard bad things about feeding tubifex worms to discus. make sure you do plenty of research before you start to feed them

matt

leanne31
Thu Jan 27, 2005, 10:00 AM
I ve heard they could be a source of hex but i could be wrong

Littlefish
Thu Jan 27, 2005, 10:21 AM
Like I said, I've been using them for some 40 years now without problems.

The worms themselves are not a problem, it's the disease laden sites where some people collected them from, combined with inadequate cleaning/purging.

Unfortunately many people came to grief by assuming that buying them from an aquarium shop meant the owners/franchisees must know what they are doing. Ethics in the aquarium trade, as in any other, are variable.

I recently phoned around Brisbane to see if anyone could supply, and was assured on three occasions that genuine tubifex, not blackworm, were available. Each time the worms offered turned out to be blackworm. When I pointed this out, the inevitable reply was 'Oh, uh - well that's all we can get.'