PDA

View Full Version : Altum angels

dapostle
Tue Dec 23, 2008, 10:11 AM
Hi, I am new to wild angels and am wondering what you would expect to pay for them. I have a 6ft tank planted and was either going to get wild discus or wild angels....
Here in Perth prices seem to be reasonable for wild discus, there are some 'dumerilii' angels around but that is about all and from what i have seen from some photos here, i want 'altums' they look incredible.
Any advice for 'Perths' would be appreciated. email dapostle@tpg.com.au
David

Merrilyn
Wed Dec 24, 2008, 06:58 AM
Hi David and welcome to the forum.

Can't blame you for wanting altums. They're the ultimate wild angel. Not an easy fish to keep, and almost impossible to breed, but some of us keep trying LOL.

The only altums you'll see in this country are wild caught, and so are only available during the catching season, which is June/July/August.

They have pretty stringent water requirements, but probably the biggest drawback is that you will need to dedicate as very large and deep tank to them alone.

You can't mix them with any other cichlids, and that includes discus, and any kind of wild or domestic angel because of the possibility of cross infection. It will wipe out your whole tank. I've done it myself, so learned from bitter experience.

The other thing is, if you want a colony of say, ten altums, you will need to buy them all at once, and never mix them with any other altums during their life time. This isn't necessary because of aggression, but again for disease control. I became quite an expert on killing altums before I discovered these secrets to keeping them alive :roll: