PDA

View Full Version : Told to get rid of all my tank mates

fishcurious
Mon Apr 28, 2008, 02:45 AM
I am new to discus. I have a 46 gallon lighlty planted tank with the following: 3 discus, 2 albino bristlenose, 5 panda cory, 5 sterbi cory, 2 flying fox, 5 bleeding heart tetra, 3 black phanton tetra, 4 red serpae tetra, 2 blood fin tetra. I have 2 emperor 400 for filtration and do regular cleaning. Anyhow my local fishstore said i have to get rid of everything but the cory that all the tetras, bristlenose and flying fox will each the slime on the side of the discus and kill them. this tank is in my office smack dab in front of my desk. I have never seen any of these fish bother the discus. The lfs said they do it at night after lights out.

Is this correct??? If so I will make changes. The lfs said sae, rams, rummy nose tetra and rose line barbs are good tankmates.

thanks! :shock:

jesx57
Mon Apr 28, 2008, 06:37 AM
Well I am not quite sure of the LFS advice, he might of got mix up with your sort of catfish. From what I've heard, only large common pleco etc, has a tendency to do that. The only way to find out what they are doing is to spy on them at night! I don't think that the tetras would eat the slime off the side of your discus, if so, why do they say you can keep discus and tetras together? Don't be too concerned, you know your fish's behavior better than the LFS, plus, if they are in front of where you work, you'd know what they are up to, right? And, as for the flying fox, I have one of them in my other tank( no discus, just guppies), and he seems pretty harmless. It's the chinese algae eater I'd be worried about, I had one of them with my goldfish once, and he tried to grab onto the sides of them!

Best of luck :)

Hollowman
Mon Apr 28, 2008, 01:41 PM
I would say the guy at your LFS is full of ****!!!

He obviously knows nothing of what can be put with Discus. All of the tankmates you have are fine with discus.