PDA

View Full Version : What is a good tank bred brown?

ivo
Sun Dec 02, 2007, 07:16 AM
I am new to brown discus (tank bred). Apart from that cute little one with half 5th bar which i posted before this one is the first brown i ever bought. How do you judge a good brown discus? Any comments on this one is appreciated so i know what to look out for in brown discus in the future. Thank you.

ivo
Sun Dec 02, 2007, 07:18 AM
second picture and one more to follow. i only got it yesterday so the tail has slightly ph burnt and a scratch on it's body but these are all recovering very quickly already.

ivo
Sun Dec 02, 2007, 07:20 AM
last picture.

Robdog
Sun Dec 02, 2007, 07:50 AM
That is a beautiful brown. I struggle to fault it.

nicholas76
Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:34 AM
another mint fish!

ILLUSN
Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:55 AM
How do you judge a good brown discus?

If it looks anything like that its a DAMN GOOD BROWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You'd pick like anyother discus, shape, size color, fins eye etc.

that fish is beutiful, the only minor of all criticisum would be the eye, black bar through the pupil is not perfectly symetrical, but very few are.

there is also the slightest of a double chin.

I'd be very happy to have that fish in any of my tanks.

ozarowana
Mon Dec 03, 2007, 01:56 AM
Very nice fish! Is the start of the dorsal damaged/crooked?

triumph1921
Mon Dec 03, 2007, 02:36 AM
Hi Ivo

Nice looking fish mate......................

Care to let me know where and how much you bought it for. If u cant mention it here just pm me.

cheers

ivo
Mon Dec 03, 2007, 08:47 AM
thanks guys for the comments. the start of dorsal fin was damaged through catching the fish and putting it into bag, but it is recovering now so my guess is in another week it will be fully recovered. i bought it from a private owner it took me a long time to persuade him to sell to me.

jonieeee
Thu Dec 06, 2007, 11:52 PM
Really love the color.. Such a bEautiful fish you got there ivo :D

ivo