PDA

View Full Version : Mini Reef and Protein Skimmer

ivo
Fri Mar 23, 2007, 12:54 PM
hi guys, could you please tell me what is mini reef system in a tank and how does it work? if i just want to keep fish and no live rocks do i need mini reef system? also for a 200 litres tank what brand and size of protein skimmer would you recommend? thanks.

lachlan
Sat Mar 24, 2007, 07:05 AM
hey

a mini reef is often reffered to as a nano tank, and isn't recomended as a beginners tank. i am no expert at marine tanks but the bigger the tank is the easier it is to keep the paramaters stable. it is also easier to keep LR in a tank as you really don't need to worry about filtraton if you have it.

as for the protein skimmer, have no idea LOL

Ben
Sun Mar 25, 2007, 02:58 AM
A mini reef tank is set up so it contains predominantly corals/ invertebrates.

2 foot cube tanks are usually set up in this manner.

Here is a photo of one of my small tanks, not a mini reef tank but gives you an idea on how a small tank can look. Due to lighting restrictions I have only soft type corals. Its 48 Litres.

Ben
Sun Mar 25, 2007, 03:00 AM
As far as protein skimmers go, a Jebo hang on would work.....Red sea skimmers are excellent but if the budget allow's go a aqua-medic!

Palpatine
Sun Mar 25, 2007, 04:48 AM
I think what he is referring to is a "minireef" sump. It's basically a small sump with a spraybar, some filter sponge and a lot of bioballs. Not really used by reef keepers these days because of the nitrate issues they cause. However, if all you're looking for is a fish only having one would be very useful.

Almost compulsory if you don't have any live rock.

lachlan
Sun Mar 25, 2007, 05:36 AM
ben do you use a sump with your nano?

ivo
Sun Mar 25, 2007, 07:13 AM
Hi Palpatine, thank you. That was exactly my question in regard to mini reef. Looking to set up a 200 litres tank and keep a few fish.